Fungal Septomics

Systemic fungal infections have increased dramatically in the last decades. A common characteristic in all septic fungal infections is that they are difficult to diagnose and result in elevated mortality rate. For this reason, Fungal Septomics focuses specifically on infection biology of systemic fungal infections. 

Fungal Septomics aims at analysing both the variability of the pathogen and the regulation of the human immune system during sepsis. The most important model organism is the polymorphic yeast Candida albicans. We investigate how C. albicans can transform from a harmless ‘commensal’ into an invasive pathogen.  The ability of C. albicans to switch from its yeast form to filamentous forms, enabling tissue-invasive growth, as well as adaptation to determinants of host niches are essential for this step. Fungal Septomics analyses the mechanisms of morphogenesis and environmental adaptation. 

Invasive infections caused by C. albicans are almost always also associated with a dysfunction of the host’s immune response. Here, neutrophilic granulocytes are of particular importance. The action of neutrophilic granulocytes in concert with other components of the immune system as well as the functions of other immune cells are yet to be fully understood. The work of Fungal Septomics focuses on these questions, using established infection models for primary human immune cells, as well as a whole-blood infection model, as a simple but meaningful in vitro infection model.

Fungal Septomics

Pilzinfektionen als Auslöser einer Sepsis haben in den letzten Jahren dramatisch zugenommen. Allen septischen Pilzinfektionen ist eines gemeinsam: Sie sind schwer zu diagnostizieren und mit einer überdurchschnittlich hohen Sterblichkeit verbunden. Daher beschäftigt sich die Arbeitsgruppe Fungal Septomics gezielt mit systemischen Pilzinfektionen. 

In der Arbeitsgruppe Fungal Septomics werden sowohl die Variabilität der Erreger als auch die Aktivierung des menschlichen Immunsystems im Verlauf der Sepsis charakterisiert. Wichtigster Modellorganismus von Fungal Septomics ist der polymorphe Hefepilz Candida albicans. Wir untersuchen wie sich C. albicans von einem harmlosen Besiedler in einen invasiven Krankheitserreger wandeln kann. Essentiell für die Pathogenese von C. albicans ist die Fähigkeiten zwischen der Hefeform und filamentösen Formen, die gewebsinvasives Wachstum ermöglichen, zu wechseln. Fungal Septomics analysiert die Mechanismen dieses Morphotypwechsels. 

Die Entstehung einer invasiven Candida-Infektion wird aber auch durch eine Störung der Immunantwort des Wirts begünstigt. Hierbei sind insbesondere neutrophile Granulozyten von zentraler Bedeutung. Die Funktionen anderer Immunzellen und die Interaktion verschiedener Bestandteile des menschlichen Immunsystems im Verlauf der Sepsis sind allerdings weitgehend unbekannt. Diesen Fragestellungen widmet sich Fungal Septomics. Dazu werden etablierte Infektionsmodelle für primäre humane Immunzellen sowie ein Vollblutinfektionsmodell genutzt.